CRAG AGM - April 2016

A successful Annual General Meeting was held at The House of Commons recently.  The members were welcomed by Lord Plumb, Crag's retiring President who was thanked for his great contribution to the group over the last 5 years.  A presentation was given by Vice-President Nigel Finch, of a bottle of Malt Whisky and a flask, as a token of our appreciation. Lord De Mauley was introduced to the meeting and would now be the new President upon invitation by the committee.

Lord Plumb announced the new officers for the group for 2016-17, warmly welcoming Lord Abergavenny as new Chairman, and giving thanks to Richard Haddock for his service. Rebecca Pow MP Crag Parliamentary representative addressed the meeting,as one of the two Parliamentary representatives. Nusrat Ghani MP attended and gave support.  

George Eustice MP, Defra MInister, Julie Girling MEP, and also Richard Ashworth MEP, the Conservative Agricultural spokesman at the EU, all addressed the meeting with their take on the EU Referendum, with members grateful for their views, and no resolution being passed, but a friendly discussion and debate was held by the group.

A Reception followed at The Royal Horseguards Hotel with refreshments, for all members and constituency representatives, and organisations attending.  The photographs are on the website.The event was very well attended, and from feedback received, it was greatly appreciated the balanced debate and discussion.